The structure of the Bhagavad — gita (last part)

Distinguish the levels of instruction of the Bhagavad gita You can help us to understand the set of the message of Lord Krishna drive. By Juan Carlos Ramchandani (Krishna Kripa). See first part here.

Bhagavad Gita

Textual references to the staircase of the motivations

At the lowest level, the actions are motivated by the utilitarianism, the desire to achieve something personally. Krishna first employs a utilitarian argument trying to convince Arjuna to take weapons. It assumes that Arjuna aims to accumulate benefits, such as fame, and objected that if removed from the battlefield, Arjuna will lose their fame.

The following argument of Krishna is also utilitarian, but slightly higher in the fact that accepts the authority of the Scriptures to quote the Warriors killed in the battle to reach the sky. In this way we could baptize the level on which this argument is based as "religious utilitarianism" or "utilitarianism Dharma".

In other words, Krishna advises Arjuna to follow the dharma to achieve a goal in this life or the next. Follow the dharma because Yes, or the summons by the duty itself is more superior. That level represents a form of pure Act, free of desire for their results, and it is one of the fundamental teachings of the Bhagavad gita. However, is still on the first floor, as does not include awareness of an ultimate goal, that according to the Bhagavad gita It is free from samsara. Thus, all those who follow the dharma because if they reach the top of the first level and they can continue to progress to the next.

The next level reject the values of the Vedas, i.e. concern for the worldly achievements, in favour of a higher ideal: achieve Brahman. At this level we can name it "action to achieve well higher (Brahman)." Who work in this way is located on the second level, determined by different systems of yoga. It can work in Karma; without showing any interest in the results of their actions, offers these fruits to the Supreme. You can practice jnana yoga, ashtanga-yoga o bhakti-yoga. All these yogic practices share the objective of "detach" from the existence and worldly, focusing on the lighting Supreme affection. The stage of yoga is characterized by the lighting and the resignation. After reaching this level perfection, we finally rise up to the third floor, the of moksha, and continue fulfilling our duty with a strong will, pure, spontaneous and without mixtures of loving devotion to Krishna.


We've added some steps onto the fundamental steps of three. As well, can be summed up the levels as follows: basic utilitarianism, utilitarianism Dharma, duty per se, acting in pursuit of the highest good or Brahman, yoga level, and the level of moksha or pure devotion.

In this range of motivations, the greater is the own performance motivation, higher ourselves based on the metaphysical structure of the Bhagavad-gita. In this way the Bhagavad gita It covers all the domains of existence, encouraging everyone to that similar motivations stair, distancing us from samsara and absorbing us into Brahman. Following such a structure, the student can grasp the sense of the Bhagavad gita understanding that it is a treaty theological-philosophical-full coherence, firmly articulated in a single text. Capable of offering the model of a three-storey building where everyone can co-exist.

Juan Carlos Ramchandani smallWho is

Juan Carlos Ramchandani It is purohit (hindu priest), yoga-acharya (yoga teacher) and Doctor in traditional hindu philosophy. He has published 11 books and numerous articles on yoga and Hinduism. He travels across Spain lecturing and performing Vedic ceremonies.

Other articles on ,
By • 21 jan, 2014 • section: Signatures