Moral principles of Yoga: Yamas (part 1)

Yamas and Niyamas are essential for a true transformation of personal ethical principles or conditions, but should not be imposed but adopted in consciousness. Writes Juan Ortiz.

Sky birds

My first contact with Yoga, like most of the practitioners, was through the practice of asanas. I greatly attracted without knowing very well why, these photographs I saw in some books of Yogis performing various postures; more than position itself, I were appealing those faces with a serene and profound expression (actually was an expression different from what I usually saw to my round, in the surroundings where I grew up and I developed). This internalized and concentrated figures were I to enigmatic and attractive.

Why wasn't I difficult to decide to attend Yoga classes taught by my first teachers. At the same time advancing in the psycho-physical Yoga practice, I discovered that there were many more aspects and experiences than I thought and that was completed by a set of comprehensive work. Yoga includes a huge wealth of techniques and experiences, as well as a philosophical body with a profound vision of existence.

Patanjali in his aphorisms comprising the Yoga Sutrasdevelops across a methodology for those who want to follow the path of Yoga. In addition to other aspects, already talk of Ashtanga Yoga (8 members of Yoga), which include the Yamas and Niyamas, conditions or valid ethical principles for all practitioners of Yoga and also for all human beings.

Go! Throughout my teenage years complaining of impositions and I find that there are also other standards or observations in Yoga. At the beginning it was a little strange, but I gradually deepened, and I understood that they were an essential aid in my own yogic process and as a human being aspires to continue advancing and polishing is not in a theoretical way, but really and experiential.

If we study the different cultures and religions, we will realize that they have their own principles or ethical recommendations: the 10 commandments of the Christians, the Buddhist eightfold path or the ethical recommendations of Judaism, Islam, or others philosophies; all allude to the need to take into account certain attitudes or norms favoring both the individual process as our relationship with each other and the world that surrounds us.

Without dogmatic dyes

What in my case - and certainly in the many readers - I produced rejection were not these ethical commandments itself, but handling making them rigid and ancient structures and the imposition of authoritarian and dogmatic.

In this way we come to a conclusion: for a good and balanced use of the Yamas and Niyamas, must not be imposed by any religious authority or yoga. The value of these ethical principles is born of immersion in them by awareness and individual decision, and never by tracking irrational dictates or taxes of any kind. To make entire process yogic it should be under the cloak of freedom and one's consciousness.

It is good for Yoga teachers talk to their students the Yamas and Niyamas so they know that they exist and that they can be very useful. And it is also highly recommended that they explain well and are devoid of religious or sectarian dyes. Indeed, many practitioners do not know them, and others think that talk of Yamas and Niyamas has to do with any religion. You must set them in their true processing dimension internal and external reality and stripping them of any extraneous matter.

So we can define Yamas and Niyamas as conditions or ethical principles essential for true transformation and help us to abandon habits tamasic or unhealthy aspects of our body, mind, and consciousness, and establish ourselves is States cigars or satvicos and in the recreation and evolution of life itself.

The 5 Yamas

They could be defined as abstinence, codes of social conduct, standards of behavior.

1. Ahimsa: Non-violence. The pursuit of peace and kindness. Not to damage or to cause harm to other living beings, but not to violate us or assaulting us themselves physically, emotionally or mentally.

2. Satya: The truth. Not to lie or lie to us. Be authentic, detached from appearances, the disimulo and falsehood. Express our true nature.

3. Asteya: Not to steal, not appropriating the alien. Not only refers to objects material but also to not steal the energy of others, etc.

4. Brahmacharya: Well understood chastity. It is not of repression or denial of sexuality, but chastity in the sense of control of sexuality and learning how to use it properly. This has been handled initially and not well understood, even by many lines of Yoga.

5. Aparigraha: No possession or well understood poverty. It is not to a dignified life, but have to be and not to have. It's not be slaves of what we have and handle it properly and share it with others, especially with those who have less. Living with generosity, sharing, love and compassion.

JuanOrtiz255x255Who is

Juan Ortiz teaches yoga, yoga teacher trainer.

Founder of the school of yoga Dhyana.

Other articles on , , , ,
By • 21 jan, 2013 • section: Signatures, Yamas and Niyamas