What's Seen/ Moral Principles of Yoga: Yamas

Yamas y Niyamas son las condiciones o principios éticos esenciales para una verdadera transformación personal, pero no deben ser impuestos sino adoptados en conciencia. Escribe Juan Ortiz.

Sky birds

My first contact with Yoga, like most of the practitioners, was through the practice of asanas. I greatly attracted without knowing very well why, these photographs I saw in some books of Yogis performing various postures; more than position itself, I were appealing those faces with a serene and profound expression (actually was an expression different from what I usually saw to my round, in the surroundings where I grew up and I developed). This internalized and concentrated figures were I to enigmatic and attractive.

Why wasn't I difficult to decide to attend Yoga classes taught by my first teachers. At the same time advancing in the psycho-physical Yoga practice, I discovered that there were many more aspects and experiences than I thought and that was completed by a set of comprehensive work. Yoga includes a huge wealth of techniques and experiences, as well as a philosophical body with a profound vision of existence.

Patanjali, en sus aforismos que conforman los Yoga Sutras, elabora toda una metodología para los que quieran seguir la senda del Yoga. Además de otros aspectos, ya habla del Ashtanga Yoga (los 8 miembros del Yoga), entre los cuáles se encuentran los Yamas y Niyamas, las condiciones o principios éticos válidos para todos los practicantes de Yoga y también para todos los seres humanos.

Go! Throughout my teenage years complaining of impositions and I find that there are also other standards or observations in Yoga. At the beginning it was a little strange, but I gradually deepened, and I understood that they were an essential aid in my own yogic process and as a human being aspires to continue advancing and polishing is not in a theoretical way, but really and experiential.

Si estudiamos las diversas culturas y religiones, nos daremos cuenta de que tienen sus propios principios o recomendaciones éticas: los 10 mandamientos de los cristianos, el óctuple sendero budista o las recomendaciones éticas del judaísmo, islamismo u otras filosofías; todos aluden a la necesidad de tener en cuenta algunas actitudes o normas que favorezcan tanto el proceso individual como nuestra relación con los demás y el mundo que nos rodea.

Without dogmatic dyes

What in my case - and certainly in the many readers - I produced rejection were not these ethical commandments itself, but handling making them rigid and ancient structures and the imposition of authoritarian and dogmatic.

De esta manera llegamos a una conclusión: para una buena y equilibrada utilización de los Yamas y Niyamas, no deben ser impuestos por ninguna autoridad religiosa o yóguica. El valor de estos principios éticos nace de la inmersión en ellos por awareness and individual decision, and never by tracking irrational dictates or taxes of any kind. To make entire process yogic it should be under the cloak of freedom and one's consciousness.

Es bueno que los profesores de Yoga hablen a sus alumnos de los Yamas y Niyamas para que sepan que existen y que les pueden ser muy útiles. Y también es muy recomendable que se expliquen bien y que sean desprovistos de tintes sectarios o religiosos. Efectivamente, muchos practicantes no los conocen y otros piensan que hablar de Yamas y Niyamas tiene que ver con alguna religión. Hay que establecerlos en su verdadera processing dimension internal and external reality and stripping them of any extraneous matter.

Así que podemos definir Yamas y Niyamas como las condiciones o principios éticos esenciales para una verdadera transformación y para ayudarnos a abandonar hábitos tamásicos o aspectos no saludables para nuestro cuerpo, mente y conciencia, y establecernos es estados puros o sátvicos y en la recreation and evolution of life itself.

The 5 Yamas

They could be defined as abstinence, codes of social conduct, standards of behavior.

1. Ahimsa: Non-violence. The pursuit of peace and kindness. Not to damage or to cause harm to other living beings, but not to violate us or assaulting us themselves physically, emotionally or mentally.

2. Satya: The truth. Not to lie or lie to us. Be authentic, detached from appearances, the disimulo and falsehood. Express our true nature.

3. Asteya: Not to steal, not appropriating the alien. Not only refers to objects material but also to not steal the energy of others, etc.

4. Brahmacharya: Well understood chastity. It is not of repression or denial of sexuality, but chastity in the sense of control of sexuality and learning how to use it properly. This has been handled initially and not well understood, even by many lines of Yoga.

5. Aparigraha: No possession or well understood poverty. It is not to a dignified life, but have to be and not to have. It's not be slaves of what we have and handle it properly and share it with others, especially with those who have less. Living with generosity, sharing, love and compassion.


Juan Ortiz es profesor de yoga, formador de profesores de yoga.

Founder of the school of yoga Dhyana.


Other articles on ,
By • 4 Sep, 2019 • Sección: As seen